Skip to Content

Home > Feng Shui Blog > Gardens, Plants, Landscaping

Gardens, Plants, Landscaping

Follow Carol's Blog

To receive new blog posts in your inbox, enter your email address here:

Delivered by FeedBurner


Feng Shui For the Garden

Wed May 11 2016 | Author: Carol Olmstead
Jumpstart the geraniums and dial up the dahlias: it's time to start growing something in your garden with a Feng Shui plan in mind. Whether the garden view you see is a lush paradise or a simple hanging plant, you can choose plants and decorations in colors and shapes that represent the Feng Shui Five Elements.

The Five Elements is the Feng Shui term to describe the colors, shapes, and textures around you and the attributes they bring into your life. The Elements are Fire, Earth, Metal, Water, Wood, and each has a characteristic shape and colors, and represents specific aspects of life. What do the names of the Five Elements conjure up in your mind? Most likely it is the same thing as their attributes: passion, grounding, clarity, movement, and growth, respectively.

Check out these simple ways to activate the Elements while adding a bit of pizzazz to your garden:

Fire Element: Plant red, orange, or purple flowers, then add an outdoor fire pit and lanterns or torches.

Earth Element: Plant yellow flowers, and arrange rocks and clay pots around them.

Metal Element: Plant white flowers and decorate your garden with metal sculptures and wind chimes.

Water Element: Plant blue and purple flowers, and create a water element like a pond, fountain, or birdbath.

Wood Element: Plant green shrubs and trees, then place wooden benches, chairs, or a trellis in your backyard.

To place these Element shapes and colors in the most appropriate bagua area of your garden, first download a Feng Shui bagua that matches the shape of your garden from the "Basics" section at Next, hold the bagua in front of you when you look into your garden from its main entrance. Plant and decorate your garden to match the colors and shapes recommend for each area.

For example, in the Wealth area (upper left hand corner of your garden), grow red roses, purple salvia, or other plants with hot colors or triangular shapes to increase your abundance and prosperity. Plant fruit trees in this area and your wealth will be "fruitful."

If you live in an apartment or condo, you can still have a garden on your balcony or patio. Even though the space is small, use the bagua to map out your outdoor space, then decorate with flowers, small potted plants, or garden ornaments.

Posted in: Gardens, Plants, Landscaping | Tags: feng shui, flowers, garden, colors, elements, feng shui colors, plants, roses

Feng Shui and the Language of Flowers

Mon Dec 10 2012 | Author: Carol Olmstead
There’s a strong, basic connection between Feng Shui and flowers. What’s your favorite flower, and how does it speak to you in Feng Shui terms? The stronger your connection to a specific flower -- because of its shape, color, texture, aroma, or meaning -- the more powerful it can be as a personal Feng Shui symbol. You can also choose to surround yourself with flowers based on the Feng Shui meaning of their colors. For example, red flowers represent passion and emotion; orange, warmth and conversation; yellow, truth and friendship; green, growth and renewal; blue, clarity and relaxation; purple, spirituality and faith; white, innocence and strength.

Whenever you bring flowers and flower symbols into your home to activate their Feng Shui meaning, first try to surround yourself with actual living flowers. When that’s not possible, display artwork that shows flowers, decorate with floral fabrics and decorations, or choose high quality silk flowers.

Dried flowers are a Feng Shui “no no,” because they are considered dead energy. Occasionally I go into a client’s bedroom and see that dried up bridal bouquet sitting on the dresser collecting dust and know it’s no longer sending a positive message. I recommend keeping one flower from your bouquet in a scrapbook instead of displaying a dried up bouquet.

Fable of the Magic Red Geranium
I want to share a story from my book to show how flowers can speak to us on a personal level. It's called the "Fable of the Magic Red Geranium."

Have you heard the fable of the Magic Red Geranium? A woman living in a shabby, cluttered house was given an enchanted red geranium by a wise person who told her to take it home, where it would transform her life. She took the geranium home and set it on her wobbly kitchen table covered by a stained tablecloth. Immediately, she saw how the beautiful form and color of the geranium made the wobbly table seem in disrepair and the table linen look shabby. So, she fixed the table leg and washed the tablecloth. Then she noticed how her newly washed tablecloth made her floor seem dull, so she scrubbed it. This made her kitchen walls look drab, so she repainted the room in a fresh color and replaced missing cabinet knobs. Eventually her entire home was sparkling, and she had indeed transformed her life.

Here are a few of the more common Feng Shui flower symbols, and the best bagua area to locate them:
1. Peony. Symbolizes attracting love or restoring a relationship. Display a pair of pink peonies in your bedroom or Love Area.
2. Orchid. Symbolizes the search for spiritual growth and purity in life, and also a fertility symbol. Place an orchid in the Helpful People area.
3. Narcissus. Symbolizes the flowering of talents and abilities, and career success. Display a white narcissus in the Career Area to get rewarded for hard work.
4. Chrysanthemum. Symbolizes a balanced and easy life. Display mums in the Balance Area at the center of your home to attract good luck.
5. Cherry, Dogwood, Peach Blossom. Symbolizes freshness and new beginnings. Display flowering blooms in the Health Area to assure well-being.
6. Lotus. Symbolizes perfection and healing. Display a lotus flower image in the Knowledge Area to assure a healthy and harmonious home.
7. Hydrangea. Symbolizes gratitude and enlightenment. Display in the Creativity Area, and give as a gift to an unsung hero.
8. Rose. Symbolism varies according to color: red for love, yellow for friendship, white for purity, pink for admiration. Display red roses in the Love Area to strengthen relationships and in the Wealth Area for prosperity.

Posted in: Gardens, Plants, Landscaping | Tags: feng shui, flowers, language of flowers, dried flowers, flower symbol, red geranium fable

© Copyright 2022, Carol Olmstead